Sunday, April 24, 2016

Stats Are Just Numbers - Talladega Edition

Talladega. Do I have to say more? It's one of the most known tracks in the NASCAR Circuit and is also one of the most unpredictable tracks on the circuit. Talladega brings new meaning to Stats are Just Numbers because when you try to pick a winner it'll jump out and bite you or NASCAR will do it for you. Joey Logano was not on the ballet to win in October but survived to take the Victory. NASCAR's favorite son won here last May and will look to do it again this Sunday. Here is some unuseful numbers in this weekends Stats are Just Numbers!

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Stats at Talladega

Races - 45 Races
First Winner - Pete Hamilton
Defending Winner - Dale Earnhardt Jr.
G.W.C Finishes - 5 (2005, 2007, 2010, 2012, and 2013)
Postponed Races - 3 (1991,1997, and 2006)
Shortened Races - 2 (1974 and 1987)
Most Wins - 4 (Jeff Gordon)
Most Wins by a Team - 7 (Hendrick Motorsports)
Most Manufacturer Wins - 19 (Chevrolet)
Interesting Fact - In 2015 The Hendrick Motorsports teams dominated the race, leading more than two-thirds of the laps. After the last restart, Dale Earnhardt, Jr. took the checkered flag in first place, breaking a 10-year winless streak at Talladega in his first win with new crew chief Greg Ives.

NASCAR Xfinity Series at Talladega

Races - 23 Races
First Winner - Ernie Irvin
Defending Winner - Joey Logano
G.W.C Finishes - 7 (2005, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013)
Postponed Races - 1 (2010)
Shortened Races - 1 (2013)
Most Wins - 3 (Martin Truex Jr.)
Most Wins by a Team - TIE, 5 (Dale Earnhardt Inc. and Joe Gibbs Racing)
Most Manufacturer Wins - 13 (Chevrolet)
Interesting Fact - For 2014 NASCAR announced it would ban any form of push-drafting in the corners of restrictor plate races. The lead changed 27 times as Elliott Sadler, in a Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, led 40 laps; Chris Buescher edged ahead of him at the white flag but Sadler drafted to the win on the final lap, his first in the Nationwide Series since 2012 and first with JGR. Daytona winner, Regan Smith, led 20 laps en route to a close third.

ARCA Racing Series pres. by Menards at Talladega

Races - 35 Races
First Winner - Jim Vandiver
Defending Winner - Blake Jones
G.W.C Finishes - 2 (2009 and 2015)
Postponed Races - 1 (2011)
Shortened Races - 3 (1991, 2006, and 2013)

The Bell Tolls for Christopher Bell in Salem!

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series regular Christopher Bell has won his first career ARCA Race today in Salem, IN. Driving the Venturini Motorsports entry, Christopher Bell took the victory today in just his first ARCA Racing Series Presented by Menards start. Justin Haley, Dalton Sargeant, Kyle Weatherman, and Blake Jones rounded out the Top 5! Nashville winner Josh Williams finished 13th after starting 17th. Daytona Winner John Wes Townley finished 7th. The ARCA Racing Series will now head to it's second and final Superspeedway Race of 2016 at Talladega Superspeedway.


  1. Christopher Bell
  2. Justin Haley
  3. Kyle Weatherman
  4. Dalton Sargeant
  5. Blake Jones
  6. Tom Hessert
  7. John Wes Townley 
  8. Brandon Lynn
  9. Matt Kurzejewski
  10. Brian Keselowski
  11. Tyler McQuarrie
  12. Shane Lee
  13. Josh Williams
  14. A.J. Fike
  15. Bo LeMastus
  16. Chase Briscoe
  17. Thomas Praytor
  18. Brady Boswell
  19. Mike Basham
  20. Sheldon Creed
  21. Dustin Knowles
  22. Brad Smith
  23. Kyle Plott
  24. Con Nicolopoulos
  25. Wayne Peterson
  26. Richard Doheny
  27. Richard Hauk
  28. Steve Fox
  29. Barry Layne
  30. Chase Storch
  31. Billy Alger
  32. Ronnie Osmer

Edwards does Back to Back Flips, Last Lap Pass at Richmond!

In the last turn of the Toyota Owners 400, It looked as if Kyle Busch would win his third race of the 2016 season. Carl Edwards didn't show as much teammate love as he had in the past and pushed Kyle to the top of the track to take the victory, his second straight victory. Kyle Busch of course led tons of laps but was relegated to second, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, and Kevin Harvick rounded out the Top 5. Tony Stewart in his return finished 19th. His best finish since Martinsville where he finished 10th. Carl Edwards moves up in the Chase Grid with his second win of the 2016 Season.

NASCAR News Source Driver of The Week

Tony Stewart had no experience behind the wheel of the new rule package nor with his new crew chief. Today Stewart basically said he had a ton of fun which is something we haven't seen very much of left and Smoke was smiling. Great way to see him return to the #14. Stewart found himself the victim of a flat tire but worked his way back onto the lead lap and into a great finish returning in the 19th place. Congratulations to Smoke on becoming this weekend's Driver of the Week!


  1. Carl Edwards
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Kasey Kahne
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Matt Kenseth
  8. Joey Logano
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Kurt Busch 
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Chase Elliott
  13. Dale Earnhardt Jr,
  14. Greg Biffle 
  15. Kyle Larson
  16. Jamie McMurray
  17. Trevor Bayne
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. Tony Stewart
  20. Austin Dillon
  21. Aric Almirola
  22. Paul Menard
  23. David Ragan
  24. Danica Patrick
  25. AJ Allmendinger
  26. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  27. Landon Cassill
  28. Ryan Blaney
  29. Casey Mears
  30. Matt DiBenedetto
  31. Michael McDowell
  32. Regan Smith
  33. Clint Bowyer
  34. Chris Buescher
  35. Brian Scott
  36. Michael Annett
  37. Ryan Ellis
  38. Jeffery Earnhardt
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Reed Sorenson

Next Weekends Race

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will head to the Talladega Superspeedway for the Geico 500! Former Talladega winners like Joey Logano, Dale Earnhardt Jr., David Ragan, Jamie McMurray are still winless and are happy to return to the sight for some of their last wins. Drivers like Michael McDowell, Josh Wise, Matt DiBenedetto, Regan Smith, etc. will look to take the victory from drivers like Kurt Busch and the big names like that. Will Talladega be one to watch? For Sure!