Thursday, October 15, 2015

Doing Better In Other Rides. The Seat Swap Game

As of late you don't see as many people staying in rides for a long periods of time like in the old days and it makes you wonder why? Well if your like Kevin Harvick who switched from Richard Childress Racing to Stewart Haas Racing at the Conclusion of the 2013 Season. In 2014 Kevin Harvick started his first Championship Campaign behind the wheel of the #4 Budweiser Chevrolet SS. Come Homestead Kevin was in victory lane celebrating his first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship. Something that Harvick had never done in his thirteen years at Richard Childress Racing.
Joey Logano is another one of those success stories who left his #20 ride at Joe Gibbs Racing for the #22 Team Penske Ford Fusion. In his 5 years at Joe Gibbs Racing he tallied just 2 wins one in which was rain shortened. At the beginning of 2013 Joey Logano became a household name driving the #22 for Roger Penske. 1 win at Michigan in 2013, 5 wins at tracks like Bristol and Kansas in 2014 and this season so far 4 wins including the 57th Daytona 500.
Matt Kenseth left Roush Fenway Racing after the 2012 to race the #20 which was vacated by Joey Logano. Another Successful move. Matt won his first race with Joe Gibbs Racing in just the 3 races at Las Vegas. In that Season Matt won 7 times including from the pole in Kansas. At the end of 2014 it was announced that Matt's former teammate Carl Edwards would leave Roush Fenway Racing and join him at Joe Gibbs Racing in JGR's 4th car, 2 wins so far in 2015 so you could say yet another success story.
Martin Truex Jr left Michael Waltrip Racing after the accusations of Cheating. NAPA left the #56 team and Martin had lack of sponsorship and had to leave MWR. Kurt Busch revealed he would head to Stewart Haas Racing, the #78 Furniture Row Racing Chevrolet would be available so Martin Truex Jr.. In 2014 many questioned Martin Truex Jr.'s move. He only led one lap. Then 2015 came and Truex came off strong. 2nd place in the Sprint Unlimited. Pocono would be the icing on the cake for an
emotional win his first since 2013.
Michael McDowell left Phil Parsons Racing after the 2013 Season to join Leavine Family Racing. A good move on many parts. True McDowell would not be running a full schedule but he would be running races other than superspeedways competitively. At Bristol in 2014 Michael Gained new Sponsor Thrivent Financial after finishing 7th in the 2014 Coke Zero 400. They made the Daytona 500 in 2015 but rain has dampened many of there successes of 2015.
Ryan Newman is another one. He was dropped by Stewart Haas Racing after 2013 and went to Jeff Burton's old #31 Ride. Despite not having won a race since Indianapolis in 2013 Ryan has managed to make the chase 2 years in a row with Consistency heck last season he almoast won the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship losing it by one position.
Brad Kesleowksi wasn't always a Ford Driver. Believe it or not Brad started out with JR Motorsports but after a few issues with other drivers Hendrick Motorsports would not get 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion Brad Keselowski. The Captain like normal would pick up yet another great driver to drive the #2 car. Brad won the championship for The Captain in 2012 delivering him his first championship of his career as a NASCAR Team Owner.
Last but not least is Dale Earnhardt Jr. at the conclusion of the 2007 Dale Earnhardt Jr revealed he would leave Dale Earnhardt Inc. and join Hendrick Motorsports. The first year at Hendrick was successful with one win coming at Michigan along with one pole at Texas. 7 wins and 7 years later Dale Jr would remain in the #88 contending for the chase 2 years in a row and this season winning his 6th race at Talladega. Many question on if 17 years will be enough time for him to finally deliver JR Nation a Championship. (Koelle, 2015)

Kansas Lottery 300 at Kansas Speedway Preview

The NASCAR Xfinity Series runs to Kansas Speedway this weekend for the last time in 2015. A heated Championship battle runs through the fields of Kansas. Watch out for those Combines Championships can be lost and won from Kansas. Below are a few Storylines going through this weekend's Xfinity Series Race in Kansas.

Ruby Slippers Needed For Some Looking for Xfinity Title

The NASCAR Xfintiy Series Championship Hunt has intensified. Chris Buescher has a 26 point lead over Defending Champion Chase Elliott. 
Regan Smith who got the clutch win at Dover a few weeks ago and is looking at a 34 point deficit from points leader Chris Buescher. Just behind Smith is Ty Dillon, at 38 points out of the championship lead needs to win. Something Ty has'nt done but once in his Xfinity Series Career. Hopefully none of these drivers will need to go into Texas needing Ruby Slippers to win the Championship.

Speaking Of Points Leaders..........

Since there is not a Truck Race unil next weekend in Talladega we will have one more Xfinity Series Driver Spotlight until Homestead where we will do a spot light on the one most improved driver in 2015. 
Chris Buescher will be this weekend's Driver Spot Light! We will highlight how his 2015 has gone and If he should be in a cup ride come 2016!

Jennifer Jo Cobb Returns To NASCAR Xfinity Series

Jennifer Jo Cobb Who Has been driving the #10 entry in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series is going back to the Xfinity Series for her first start of 2015! Her last Start in what was the Nationwide Series was driving for Rick Ware Racing. She Qualified 39th but drove her way up to the 24th place. Jennifer will be driving the #10 entry for Mark Smith and Tri-Star Motorsports.  Good Luck Jennifer! 

Throwback Thursday - 2001 Protection One 400 At Kansas Speedway

On September 30th, 2001 The Inaugural Race was held at The Kansas Speedway. Since this is Jeff Gordons' final season we'd like to show you when he won the inaugural race at the track he will race at for the Final time this weekend. At the time Ryan Newman was driving the 02 for Penske South Enterprises really trying out for a ride that would win him the Rookie Of The Year in 2002.
Rusty Wallace, who finished 4th, led the most laps.


1 2 #24 Jeff Gordon  
2 17 #02 Ryan Newman 
3 8 #28 Ricky Rudd  
4 11 #2 Rusty Wallace  
5 19 #40 Sterling Marlin 
6 23 #6 Mark Martin  
7 37 #77 Robert Pressley 
8 7 #20 Tony Stewart  
9 40 #97 Kurt Busch 
10 21 #93 Dave Blaney  
11 26 #99 Jeff Burton  
12 25 #25 Jerry Nadeau 
13 31 #4 Kevin Lepage  
14 34 #31 Robby Gordon  
15 24 #55 Bobby Hamilton 
16 15 #29 Kevin Harvick  
17 35 #1 Kenny Wallace  
18 16 #96 Andy Houston  
19 29 #7 Mike Wallace 
20 39 #33 Joe Nemechek  
21 9 #32 Ricky Craven  
22 14 #26 Jimmy Spencer  
23 32 #21 Elliott Sadler  
24 30 #57 Derrike Cope 
25 42 #11 Brett Bodine  
26 28 #36 Ken Schrader  
27 20 #5 Terry Labonte  
28 1 #01 Jason Leffler 
29 10 #18 Bobby Labonte 
30 18 #88 Dale Jarrett  
31 33 #44 Buckshot Jones 
32 13 #17 Matt Kenseth  
33 22 #8 Dale Earnhardt Jr.  
34 4 #92 Stacy Compton 
35 43 #90 Hut Stricklin  
36 38 #12 Jeremy Mayfield 
37 6 #10 Johnny Benson Jr.  
38 41 #15 Michael Waltrip 
39 12 #43 John Andretti  
40 3 #9 Bill Elliott  
41 36 #22 Ward Burton 
42 27 #66 Todd Bodine  
43 5 #19 Casey Atwood