Wednesday, October 21, 2015

John Wes Townley is Indescribably Good - NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Driver Spotlight

John Wes Townley won the last time the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series raced at Las Vegas and that earned him the honors of The NASCAR News Source  Camping World Truck Series Driver Spotlight. John Wes Townley and Athenian Motorsports are one of the Original Teams I wrote about as they are an underfunded team. John as always been up there in the mix especially in 2015. In Las Vegas coasting across the finish line he took Zaxby's and Athenian Motorsports to victory lane for the very first time in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. I like many were very excited and it should shock many that I was not cheering for 2nd place Timothy Peters. I look as John Wes Townley as the underdog and it felt so good to finally call John Wes Townley a winner.
I had the oppurtunity to spend some time with John Wes Townley's team in Bristol and lets just say I am very excited for those guys because they were especially friendly to me. They were really the first team I had the chance to talk to when I went into the garage for the First time as a Writer. One guy commented on my Jesus Freak T-Shirt I was wearing and I suddenly took a liking to this team.
Starting in 2015 John Wes Townley would be driving the #05 Chevrolet Silverado in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. He would start in the 26th position but was involved in one of the big ones ending his night. At Atlanta he would show his team and himself were here and they meant business he would start 5th and finish an impressive 12th place finish a best finish for John Wes Townley so far in 2015. From Atlanta John would finish in the Top 5 2 times in both Texas and Las Vegas. John Wes Townley has finished outside the top 20 3 times so far in 2015 and that has John Wes Townley currently 8th in points. Going into Talladega John Wes Townley has a 15th place average at Talladega with his best finish coming in a
Red Horse Racing Toyota in 2013 which was a 7th.
In Conclusion next season is looking to being very promising for the #05 Zaxby's team and maybe they can string a few more great finishes in 2015 and maybe take a few more trophy's to Athenian Motorsports! (Koelle, 2015)

Fred's 250 presented By Coca-Cola Preview!

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series returns to weekly competition for 5 weeks in a row. John Wes Townley won last time in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series at Talladega! Below will be all of the storylines going into this weekends race and how I look for it to be a very exciting race!

2 Drivers Have Won at Talladega But Winless in 2015

Drivers Johnny Sauter and Timothy Peters both have won at Talladega but have not won yet in 2015, Both have a streak going also of races yearly consecutively.
Timothy Peters, last years fred's 250 winner, has won at least 1 race for the past 8 years with Red Horse Racing.
Johnny Sauter, 2013 fred's 250 winner, has had a streak of 8 seasons with at least one win.
Will either one of these make that streak 10? We'll find out Saturday.

Andy Seuss To Make NASCAR Camping World Truck Debut

2015 Whelen Modified South Series Champion Andy Seuss will make his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series debut driving the #28 FDNY Racing Chevrolet Silverado. 
Over 10 years in the South Series Andy has made over 100 starts with 21 wins, 62 Top 5's, and 82 Top 10's. 
We will wish Andy The Best in His Debut! Dega definitely wouldn't be my place for my debut but who knows Survive Dega and you could drive in Victory Lane.

Big One? Yea We Have Those Here Too

With NASCAR's New 1 Green White Checker Rule Drivers will be even more pressured to push it to the max.  
Lots Of Trucks have been wrecked over the years make sure yours won't be added to the junk pile.

Way Back Wednesday - 2006 UAW-Ford 500 at Talladega Superspeedway

In 2006 The NASCAR Nextel Cup Series ran at Talladega Superspeedway. This was the last Talladega Race covered by NBC until 2015 so I figured we'd go back!
On the last lap Jimmie Johnson would make the move on Dale Earnhardt Jr. and go for the win, the problem was that Brian Vickers went with Jimmie a little to late hooking Jimmie and sending him into leader Dale Earnhardt Jr spinning both Dale and Jimmie around. Brian Vickers would be the leader when the caution flag flew and he would win his first career Race. I imagine that we might see this this Sunday once again. If you get Dale Earnhardt Jr and Matt Kenseth running for the lead on the last lap one is going to have to wreck the other.


1   Brian Vickers  
2   Kasey Kahne 
3   Kurt Busch 
4   Matt Kenseth 
5   Martin Truex Jr. 
6   Kevin Harvick  
7   Jeff Green 
8   Mark Martin  
9   Carl Edwards  
10   Bobby Labonte  
11   Kyle Busch  
12   Dale Jarrett 
13   Ryan Newman 
14   Michael Waltrip  
15   David Gilliland 
16   Robby Gordon  
17   Mike Wallace  
18   Joe Nemechek 
19   Scott Riggs  
20   Tony Raines  
21   Denny Hamlin  
22   Tony Stewart  
23   Dale Earnhardt Jr.  
24   Jimmie Johnson  
25   Ken Schrader 
26   Mike Bliss  
27   Jeff Burton  
28   Dave Blaney  
29   Elliott Sadler  
30   Casey Mears 
31   Eric McClure  
32   J.J. Yeley 
33   David Stremme 
34   Paul Menard  
35   Clint Bowyer 
36   Jeff Gordon  
37   Jamie McMurray  
38    Kyle Petty  
39   Reed Sorenson  
40   Sterling Marlin 
41   Greg Biffle  
42         Kenny Wallace  
43   Derrike Cope