Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Josh White to Drive for Jent Motorsports in 2016

Jent Motorsports announced today that Josh White will drive their second car in 2016. Earlier this week it was revealed that Joey Gattina will drive the team's first entry and with the additon of Josh White the team looks primed and ready for Daytona next month!
Josh White drove for Hixson Motorsports in 2013 and 2015. Josh will make his 20th start next month at the Daytona International Speedway in the Lucas Oil 200. When asked about his new opportunity Josh stated that " I just want to say that it's a dream come true for me to meet and become part of a team that understands me,my roots, and my way of thinking. A team that has as much drive as I do, heart,and as much determination. It is a pleasure for me to say that I will be driving for this team. I foresee some great success in the near future, starting at Daytona." Josh White also looks forward to having Joey Gattina as a teammate. " I'm glad to also have a awesome team mate like Joey, it seems like we're going to be able to work together really well, and were going to put together one heck of a show!" Josh finished
12th in ARCA Racing points last season and will look to continue his momentum from 2015 into 2016 in a new home. Look for Josh White and Joey Gattina to be up front. Numbers, Sponsors, and other information will be revealed at a later date. Stay tuned to the NASCAR News Source for all news considering Jent Motorsports and ARCA Racing in the next coming weeks as we will be in Daytona this weekend for the ARCA Racing Test! (Koelle,2016)

Eligible Sprint Unlimited Drivers Revealed

In 2016 The Sprint Unlimited will not only kick off the 2016 NASCAR Season but will also be the first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Race at the new Daytona Rising. The 25 drivers who will be competing for that last Sprint Unlimited Trophy under the Sprint Naming. One driver will also be competing in his Final Sprint Unlimited of His Career. Below is the eligible drivers for this years Sprint Unlimited and How they are eligible.

Eligible Drivers for the 2016 Sprint Unlimited

  • AJ Allmendinger - 2015 Pole Winner (Missed 2015 Unlimited)
  • Kurt Busch - 2015 Pole Winner, 2015 Chase Driver, and Former Winner
  • Kyle Busch - 2015 Pole Winner, 2015 Chase Driver, and Former Winner
  • Carl Edwards - 2015 Pole Winner and 2015 Chase Driver 
  • Denny Hamlin - 2015 Pole Winner, 2015 Chase Driver, and Former Winner
  • Kevin Harvick - 2015 Pole Winner, 2015 Chase Driver, and Former Winner
  • Jimmie Johnson - 2015 Pole Winner, 2015 Chase Driver, and Former Winner
  • Jeff Gordon - 2015 Pole Winner, 2015 Chase Driver, and Former Winner (Retired after 15')
  • Kasey Kahne - 2015 Pole Winner
  • Matt Kenseth - 2015 Pole Winner, 2015 Chase Driver, and Defending Race Winner
  • Brad Keselowski - 2015 Pole Winner and 2015 Chase Driver
  • Joey Logano - 2015 Pole Winner and 2015 Chase Driver
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr. - 2015 Chase Driver and Former Winner
  • Tony Stewart - Former Winner
  • Greg Biffle - Former Daytona 500 Pole Winner
  • Austin Dillon - Former Daytona 500 Pole Winner
  • Danica Patrick - Former Daytona 500 Pole Winner
  • Martin Truex Jr. - Former Daytona 500 Pole Winner and 2015 Chase Driver
  • David Gilliland - Former Daytona 500 Pole Winner (Possibly Withdrawal due to No Ride) 
  • Clint Bowyer - 2015 Chase Driver
  • Jamie McMurray - 2015 Chase Driver
  • Paul Menard - 2015 Chase Driver
  • Ryan Newman - 2015 Chase Driver
  • Aric Almirola - Makes it in by points
  • Kyle Larson - Makes it in by points
Yellow Highlighted means May Not Race in Unlimited
Red Highlighted means Driver will not Race in Unlimited

Drivers who could make it if a Driver Withdrawals

  • Jeff Gordon will not race due to Retiring after 2015, In his place will be Casey Mears.
  • AJ Allmendinger did not race in Unlimited in 2015 despite being eligible, If same happens in 2016 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will make the Unlimited
  • If David Gilliland does not find a ride then Sam Hornish Jr. will make the show, If Sam Hornish Jr. can't find one then David Ragan makes it. Same situation If David Ragan does not find a ride then Trevor Bayne makes the Unlimited.
  • Next eligible Drivers are as listed - Justin Allgaier, Cole Whitt, Alex Bowman, Brett Moffitt, Matt DiBenedetto, Michael Annett, Josh Wise, Jeb Burton, Michael McDowell, Alex Kennedy.

Famous Number will Return Home in 2016

In 2016 a familiar number will return to circulation on a Team that has made history behind it. It was announced a few weeks ago that Brian Scott would drive the Richard Petty Motorsports Entry that was, at the time, the #9. Now the #9 has been a thing of the Past for RPM as the old #44 will make it's return. For the first time since AJ Allmendinger drove it for Richard Petty Motorsports at Homestead in 2009. Brian Scott will not only run for the Rookie Of The Year in that car but will also run with Teammate Aric Almirola for the Final NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship with Sprint as the entitlement sponsor. Look for an entertaining and possibly a break out year for both drivers. I personally predict both to make the chase in some way or another. (Koelle,2016)

Steve Fox will attempt 2016 Lucas Oil 200 at Daytona

In Daytona next month Steve Fox will make start number 16 in the ARCA Racing Series at a rather unusual track for him. In the past we would see Steve at tracks like Pocono and Millville but in 2016 the 58 year-old Steve Fox will attempt the Daytona race in February driving the No. 3 Ford for Norm Hutton Racing. Despite being different from the other tracks Steve has competed on Steve should do pretty well. Daytona is slightly similar to Pocono but those Similarities are very very small. We look forward to seeing Steve Fox behind the wheel at the Daytona International Speedway next month. (Koelle,2016)

Tom Hessert to race for Venturini Motorsports in 2016

Start #160 will come with Venturini Motorsports at Daytona for Tom Hessert. It has been revealed that the 5 time ARCA Racing Series Winner will move over to Venturini Motorsports in 2016. In 2015 Tom drove in all 20 races in the season for Cunningham Motorsports but failed to win a race. Tom finished 2nd in 2 races, Toledo and Millville. Tom won his first race with first race in 2010 at Iowa with Cunningham Motorsports. The Cherry Hill, NJ native made his first start for Cunningham at Palm Beach in 2010 but left the team for Ken Schrader Motorsports in 2011 before returning in 2013. From 2013 to 2015 Tom started for Cunningham Motorsports with periodic starts for Kerry Scherer. Tom's last win came at Salem in 2014 for Cunningham. Could a Venturini Motorsports ride be just what is needed to see Tom Hessert race in Championship Caliber Mode? We will find out beginning at Daytona next month! (Koelle,2016)

William Byron to Race Daytona ARCA Race before Daytona Truck Race

The 2015 NASCAR NASCAR K&N Pro Series East Champion will make a stop in the ARCA Racing Series before running the 2016 Next Era Energy 250 for Kyle Busch Motorsports. It was announced the the 18 year old from Charlotte, NC will drive for Venturini Motorsports. Sponsor Liberty University is expected to be the primary sponsorship going into the race in February. William will be making just his second NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Start driving for Kyle Busch Motorsports. It will be William's 3rd start in the ARCA Racing Series as he made 2 starts in 2015 with a best finish of 2nd at Indianapolis Raceway Park. We expect William to be part of the growing future in NASCAR and will expect to see him in Victory Lane within no time! (Koelle,2016)