Sunday, June 12, 2016

Joey Logano Ends Winless Streak in Michigan

After starting the race from the pole, Joey Logano ended in the first place spot for the first time in 2016. Joey Logano held off Chase Elliott in one of the final restarts to take the victory which would be #100 for Roush Yates Engines! The win is not only special because it was Roush Yates Engines 100th victory but was also in Ford's backyard. Joey led 138 of the 200 laps en route to his 15th career victory in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. Chase Elliott, Kyle Larson, Brad Keselowski, and Kevin Harvick rounded out the Top 5. Tony Stewart made gains in the points after finishing 7th. The Bad Luck Continued with Dale Earnhardt Jr. on Lap 62 after Chris Buescher made a mistake sending Dale Earnhardt Jr. around and into the wall, into AJ Allmendinger. Dale Earnhardt Jr. would DNF for the 4th time in 2016 at Tracks that he has won at in the past which are Daytona, Talladega, Dover, and now Michigan. Jr. would blame Chris Buescher for the incident and would proceed to finish 39th. Kyle Busch's bad luck also continued as his engine expired after lap 52. It would be his 4th straight finish of 30th or worse but with three wins already in the bank he should not be worried.

NASCAR News Source Driver of The Week

After a string of bad luck from Martinsville last year to Phoenix then a continuous close to wins Joey Logano finally stringed the perfect combinations to land in victory lane for the first time of 2016. Joey Logano ended a winless streak that went all the way back to Talladega in October of last season. With Logano's win and dominant Michigan Performance he becomes the newest NASCAR News Source Driver of The Week. Now with Joey Logano winning, Dale Earnhardt Jr. is the only 2015 winner without a win so far in 2016 but Daytona is coming. 


1 22 Joey Logano
2 24 Chase Elliott
3 42 Kyle Larson
4 2 Brad Keselowski
5 4 Kevin Harvick
6 19 Carl Edwards
7 14 Tony Stewart
8 3 Austin Dillon
9 1 Jamie McMurray
10 41 Kurt Busch
11 31 Ryan Newman
12 78 Martin Truex Jr.
13 5 Kasey Kahne
14 20 Matt Kenseth
15 6 Trevor Bayne
16 48 Jimmie Johnson
17 21 Ryan Blaney
18 27 Paul Menard
19 16 Greg Biffle
20 34 Chris Buescher
21 10 Danica Patrick
22 23 David Ragan
23 15 Clint Bowyer
24 95 Ty Dillon
25 38 Landon Cassill
26 43 Aric Almirola
27 55 Cole Whitt
28 46 Michael Annett
29 17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
30 30 Josh Wise
31 98 Reed Sorenson
32 13 Casey Mears
33 11 Denny Hamlin
34 83 Matt DiBenedetto
35 7 Regan Smith
36 44 Brian Scott
37 32 Jeffrey Earnhardt
38 47 AJ Allmendinger
39 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr.
40 18 Kyle Busch 

Next Race

The NASCAR Xfinity and Truck Series takes the spotlight this weekend as the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series takes father's day off. Some Cup Drivers will be racing in Sunday's Xfinity Race from Iowa but The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series returns in 2 weeks at Sonoma where some drivers will be unusual favorites. We make right turns in 2 weeks as drivers like AJ Allmendinger, Michael McDowell, among others will be favorites to win! It will also be the final race on Fox for the 2016 Season as the following weekend we head to Daytona for the Coke Zero 400 and the racing moves to NBC Sports.  

Suarez Wins First Career Victory at Michigan

With 2 laps to go Daniel Suarez was finally able to make that ever elusive move over Kyle Busch and hold him off and take his first career victory at Michigan. Kyle Busch finished second to one of his drivers he has been able to give advice to and watch grow. Kyle led 88 laps. Paul Menard, and Erik Jones rounded out the Top 5. Erik Jones was racing with heavy heart as his father passed away from cancer on Tuesday. We here at the NASCAR News Source want to send out deepest condolences to the Jones family and will continue to pray for them during this hard time.

Results from Michigan  

1 19 Daniel Suarez
2 18 Kyle Busch
3 2 Paul Menard
4 20 Erik Jones
5 1 Elliott Sadler
6 22 Joey Logano
7 88 Alex Bowman
8 7 Justin Allgaier
9 6 Darrell Wallace Jr.
10 33 Brandon Jones
11 48 Brennan Poole
12 39 Ryan Sieg
13 11 Blake Koch
14 16 Ryan Reed
15 3 Ty Dillon
16 4 Ross Chastain
17 0 Garrett Smithley
18 62 Brendan Gaughan
19 01 Ryan Preece
20 44 J.J. Yeley
21 51 Jeremy Clements
22 42 Justin Marks
23 07 Ray Black Jr.
24 28 Dakoda Armstrong
25 52 Joey Gase
26 13 Harrison Rhodes
27 90 Martin Roy
28 97 T.J. Bell
29 74 Mike Harmon
30 15 Todd Peck
31 70 Derrike Cope
32 25 Chris Cockrum
33 14 Jeff Green
34 78 B J McLeod
35 92 Mario Gosselin
36 89 Morgan Shepherd
37 40 John Jackson
38 79 Josh Williams
39 93 Josh Wise
40 10 Matt DiBenedetto

Next Weekend

What better Fathers Day Gift could you give to your father than a beautiful Gas Tank Replica Trophy from Iowa Speedway. 40 Drivers on Sunday will have just that opportunity and after one of the best finishes of the 2016 Season momentum is on the side of Daniel Suarez. Of Course Daniel doesn't have to worry about winning anymore after defeating Kyle Busch in Michigan. As time ticks the season is coming closer to Chase time and some drivers will be chasing their Chase Hopes Sunday in Iowa.