Monday, January 11, 2016

Hixson Motorsports Announces Testing Drivers

Hixson Motorsports has announced their drivers for the 2016 Daytona Testing session. The test
session will be the first of the season for the ARCA Racing Series.

"The 2016 season is just around the corner with the Daytona Test next week we have two drivers who will be testing one being Sarah Cornett Ching in the No. 2 and Steve Fox in the No. 3 cars," Crystal Bates of Hixson Motorsports said. "They both will be testing for the Lucas Oil 200 in preparation for the race on February 13th."

In 2015 ARCA announced that the test dates for Daytona International Speedway will be on Friday
and Saturday, January 15 and 16, 2016. The move to a January test date was one that ARCA President Don Drager said would benefit teams in the series.

“The opportunity to provide our teams with a test date in January is significant, primarily because it is a month closer to the actual race event date,” said Drager. “The ARCA Daytona test has been in December since its inception in the late 1980s, and it has evolved and grown into a vital activity inaugurating the new racing season. From many perspectives, January test dates will prove beneficial to ARCA, our teams and Daytona International Speedway. We’re pleased and enthused about the test date adjustment."

Bates agreed with Drager on the benefits of a January test date as December is a busy month for
everyone due to Christmas and the holidays. The move gives the opportunity for teams to get ready for testing as well as showcase their efforts in the ongoing search for sponsors that every team deals with.

"The team is also actively searching for additional drivers as well as sponsors to fill several spots during the course of the 2016 ARCA Racing Series season," Bate said. "After the Daytona races we will be looking for funded and experienced drivers to fill some spots for the 2016 season. Along with that we are always searching for companies to work with as new sponsors. Expanding a companies presence and brand in in the world of Motorsports is a great thing. Race fans are loyal to companies and brands that support their favorite sport!"

According to tickets are on sale now for the first stock car racing events of 2016 at the renovated Daytona International Speedway – the Saturday, February 13 ARCA Racing Series “Lucas Oil 200” and the Sprint Unlimited, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series non-points event. The Rolex 24 At Daytona on January 30-31 will be the first event after completion of the DAYTONA Rising redevelopment project. The ARCA Racing Series has raced at Daytona annually since 1964, more than 50 consecutive years. Tickets for the highly anticipated 58th running of the DAYTONA 500, NASCAR’s biggest, richest and most prestigious race also are on sale. (The NASCAR Blog)

Hamilton Hughes Racing Announces Daytona Testing Drivers

Hamilton Hughes Racing announced today the drivers that will test cars for them this weekend in Daytona for the annual ARCA Racing Test at the Daytona International Speedway. Hamilton Hughes Racing is owned by Bobby Hamilton Jr. and Jack Hughes out of Russellville Kentucky. The team announced that drivers Kyle Lockrow, Russell Henderson, Cody Thomason, Dylan Cappello, Michael Haubrich, Charles McLaughlin, Kevin Hinkle, and Kevin Rutherford will be testing their ARCA Racing Cars in this weekends Test. We know that Kyle Lockrow will be representing Woodruff Motorsports while driving HHR Cars and should make the season debut for Woodruff Motorsports in Daytona next month. We will be with Kyle highlighting his Road To Daytona along with giving you the supporters the inside source from the Daytona ARCA Test. Be sure to stay tuned here on the NASCAR News Source on news leading up to the season opening race in Daytona next month! (Koelle, 2016)

Roush Fenway Racing Announce Crew Chief Changes

Roush Fenway Racing will look to rebound from one of their most unsuccessful seasons in 2016. They will do that with a few new crew chiefs.Along with the addition of Front Row Motorsports with more technical support from Roush they will also supply a crew chief for that team. The first Crew Chief announced will be Bob Osborne who was Trevor Bayne's in 2015 will become 2016 Rookie Of The Year candidate Chris Buescher over at Front Row Motorsports. As for
the second cars driver and crew chief that is speculated to be announced within the next few weeks or during Media Week. As for the Roush Fenway Racing team Brian Pattie is the only new addition and he will be on the box for Greg Biffle, replacing Matt Puccia who will be with Trevor Bayne in 2016. Nick Sandler is speculated to return to Ricky Stenhouse Jr in 2016. (Koelle, 2016)

Josh Berry to Return to JR Motorsports in 2016

Hendersonville, TN native Josh Berry has made 3 NASCAR Xfinity Series starts over the last 2 years with JR Motorsports. His best finish came in 2015 in his one and only start. At Richmond this season where he finished 7th. In 2016 Josh is speculated to return to JR Motorsports for a few more starts behind the wheel of the #88. We look forward to seeing Josh back behind the wheel of the car and wish him the best of luck in 2016. Of course he will return to JR Motorsports with longtime sponsor Speedco Truck Lube & Tires! (Koelle, 2016)

Dakoda Armstrong will Race For JGL Racing in 2016

For the past 2 years Dakoda Armstrong has drove for the King Richard Petty in the Xfinity Series. At the end of 2015 it was revealed that Dakoda would not be returning to the ride in 2016. Today Dakoda found his ride for 2016 with a sponsorship following him from RPM, In 2016 Dakoda Armstrong will be driving the #28 entry for JGL Motorsports with longtime sponsor WinField. The 24-year old Armstrong has 73 NASCAR Xfinity Series starts to his credit to go along
with 44 starts in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Dakoda competed in all 33 Xfinity Series events last year while earning a 12th-place finish in the series overall drivers' standings.JGL Racing is still in the process of determining the driver lineup for its second team. Although that effort ran under the #26 last season, The team will continue to field two full-time entries in 2016. The #28 WinField Toyota will once again be led by Steven Lane. The NASCAR veteran crew chief returns for his second full season with JGL Racing.(Koelle, 2016)