Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Harvick tops all drivers in season winnings

 Kyle Busch capped his 2015 championship season by earning a combined $8,393,925 from race
winnings, special awards and from the Sprint Cup points fund. But it was Kevin Harvick who earned the most money among Sprint Cup drivers in 2015 at $11,730,460, according to NASCAR officials. A significant part of why Harvick amassed more earnings than the younger Busch brother was because the latter missed the first 11 races of the season recovering from racing-related injuries. A total of 44 drivers earned more than $1 million this past season.
Joey Logano earned the second-highest amount ($9,663,863) followed by Kyle Busch ($8,393,925), Jimmie Johnson ($8,152,877), Jeff Gordon ($7,614,469), Brad Keselowski ($7,477,096), Denny Hamlin ($7,473,268), Matt Kenseth ($6,806,416), Dale Earnhardt Jr. ($6,761,500) and Martin Truex Jr. ($6,751,609).
Eleventh through 20th were Ryan Newman ($5,923,403), Carl
Edwards ($5,787,488), David Ragan ($5,757,006), Kurt Busch ($5,752,866), Clint Bowyer ($5,702,243), Jamie McMurray ($5,680,016), Aric Almirola ($5,598,831), Greg Biffle ($5,555,082), Austin Dillon ($5,186,719) and Kyle Larson ($5,092,490).
A total of 78 drivers earned money for competing in at least one of this year's 36 races.(NBC Sports)

Brian Scott Will Race For Richard Petty Motorsports in 2016

After Sam Hornish Jr. and Richard Petty Motorsports parted ways after the 2015 season and sponsorship woes had this ride almost gone in 2016 and have Richard Petty Motorsports only have one car in Aric Almirola. Later this week Brian Scott and Richard Petty are expected to make the official announcement of having Brian Scott driving the #9 for Richard Petty Motorsports.
This means Brian Scott and Aric Almirola will be teammates in the 2016 season and who knows for a long period of time. Brian and Aric have not had the best relationship over the years and many fans are doubting Brian's ability in the car and why he got the ride over many other free agents. Brian's biggest thing he has is his sponsorship from Shore Lodge and Albertsons which will help RPM in the long run with sponsorship. The last incident between Aric Almirola and Brian Scott happened at California in 2014. I am looking forward to seeing how these 2 work together in 2016! The question now remains on where David Ragan and Regan Smith will land but rides are filling fast and these 2 could be drivers driving part time cars in 2016.(Koelle, 2015)

Eldora to change race name after conflicts with MLB

Eldora Speedway announced Thursday that it has reached an agreement with Major League Baseball Properties, Inc., that will change the name of the annual NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at the half-mile dirt track. The Rossburg, Ohio facility will discontinue the names "Mudsummer Classic" and "Mud Summer Classic" for NASCAR's only national series event on dirt. The race name was tweaked to "Mud Summer" for 2015 in an effort
to further distance the event from the Major League Baseball All-Star Game's nickname of "Midsummer Classic." The play on words was part of the race's name since Eldora joined the Camping World Truck Series schedule in 2013. Roger Slack, Eldora's general manager, didn't let the name go without one last swipe. "We hope all of the baseball fans who traveled to Rossburg, Ohio the past three years in anticipation of the MLB All-Star Game enjoyed the race and the $2 beers," Slack said in a statement provided by the track.(