Joey Logano Holds off Teammate for First Victory of 2019

Joey Logano was able to hold off a late charge from teammate Brad Keselowski to put a lock on his first victory of the 2019 season. With less than 15 laps remaining, the race was narrowed down to four players at the blackjack table. Logano had to hold the lead as Keselowski, pole-sitter Kevin Harvick, and Kyle Busch all four battled for an opportunity to take him down. All three drivers tried but failed as Logano earned his first victory since winning the season finale at Homestead last November.

Keselowski, who came very close to earning his second straight victory of the season and at Las Vegas, finished second. Kyle Busch, who was looking to earn the weekend sweep at Las Vegas, came up one win short and finished third. Kevin Harvick and Kurt Busch rounded out the top five.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Aric Almirola, Martin Truex Jr., Chase Elliott, and Denny Hamlin rounded out the top 10.

Ford dominated the stages winning Stage 1 with Kevin Harvick and Stage 2 with Joey Logano. Harvick led the most laps of the race with 88 total laps led, Logano led 86 laps which were the second most laps led by a driver.

Official Results from Las Vegas

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Kurt Busch
  6. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  7. Aric Almirola
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Chase Elliott
  10. Denny Hamlin
  11. Alex Bowman
  12. Kyle Larson
  13. Erik Jones
  14. Clint Bowyer
  15. Paul Menard
  16. William Byron
  17. Daniel Suarez *1 loose lugnut*
  18. Chris Buescher
  19. Jimmie Johnson
  20. Austin Dillon
  21. Matt DiBenedetto *1 loose lugnut*
  22. Ryan Blaney
  23. Daniel Hemric
  24. Ryan Newman
  25. Ryan Preece
  26. Bubba Wallace
  27. Corey LaJoie
  28. David Ragan
  29. Ty Dillon
  30. Michael McDowell
  31. Parker Kligerman
  32. Landon Cassill
  33. Ross Chastain
  34. Matt Tifft
  35. Cody Ware
  36. Reed Sorenson
  37. BJ McLeod
  38. Joey Gase
With the victory, Logano takes the points lead heading to ISM Raceway six points ahead of second place Denny Hamlin. Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, and Brad Keselowski round out the top-five in points. William Byron is currently the last driver in the playoffs with Daniel Suarez the first one out by just three points. 

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series heads to ISM Raceway in Phoenix, Arizona on Sunday for the TicketGuardian 500. Kevin Harvick earned the victory last season after the rear window brace controversy. By this time last season Harvick had two victories under his belt and on Sunday he'll be looking for his first. The race goes live on FOX at 3:30 p.m. ET. (Koelle,2019)

Photo: Christian Koelle/CCK Photography