Michael Self Earns Second Victory of 2018 at Chicago

Michael Self made a daring move during the final restart passing Riley Herbst for his second victory of the 2018 season.

"Every time I went into the Venturini shop I saw that trophy from last year that should have been ours," Self said. "It was great motivation for us. I owe it all to Billy (Venturini) and the team. They gave me a great car and all I had to do was drive it."

"It was pretty easy actually," Self said. "It's just another race when you're strapped in the seat. You can't let yourself get too excited about it. I knew we had fresher tires than the guys in front of me. I just had to stay calm and let it play out."

Sheldon Creed finished the race in second and kept his points lead. Todd Gilliland finished the race in third while Zane Smith and Chase Purdy rounded out the top five.

Results from Chicagoland

  1. Michael Self
  2. Sheldon Creed
  3. Todd Gilliland
  4. Zane Smith
  5. Chase Purdy
  6. Riley Herbst
  7. Travis Braden
  8. Codie Rohrbaugh
  9. Will Rodgers
  10. Austin Hill
  11. Blaine Perkins
  12. Natalie Decker
  13. Joe Graf Jr.
  14. Zach Ralston
  15. Will Kimmel
  16. Gus Dean
  17. Max Tullman
  18. Toni Breidinger
  19. Tom Berte
  20. Leilani Munter
  21. Eric Caudell
  22. Brad Smith
  23. Con Nicolopoulos
  24. Mike Basham
  25. Jesse Iwuji
  26. Mark Meunier
  27. Wayne Peterson
The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards season continues next weekend at the Iowa Speedway for the Fans With Benefits 150. They accompany the Verizon IndyCar Series. 

Photo Credit: ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards