Spencer Gallagher Propels in Overtime for First Career Victory at Talladega

In the 2016 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Talladega, Spencer Gallagher finished second to his teammate, in that race, Grant Enfinger. On Saturday, Gallagher was finally able to take his own spotlight in Talladega victory lane by winning the Sparks Energy 300.

Gallagher took the lead as the field entered the backstretch and never looked back as he crossed the finish line to earn his first career victory.

Brandon Jones was able to make some passes through the tri-oval to earn his best career finish of second while Justin Allgaier, Noah Gragson, and Elliott Sadler rounded out the top five.

Sadler earned the Dash4Cash bonus by finishing fifth, his second straight Dash4Cash victory. Gallagher, Jones, Allgaier, and Sadler will all four battle for the final Dash4Cash bonus of the season next weekend at Dover.

The race was slowed by caution just 5 times for 29 laps. Only one big one happened during the event when  Dylan Lupton got loose on the backstretch, hooking the No. 60 of Ty Majeski. Behind them, Chad Finchum slowed down to avoid the action and got spun into the outside wall by Grala. Overheated brakes caused Spencer Boyd to blast through the crash hitting Finchum and Lupton before coming to a stop in the cluster with Majeski and Ryan Truex

Results from Talladega

  1. Spencer Gallagher
  2. Brandon Jones
  3. Justin Allgaier
  4. Noah Gragson
  5. Elliott Sadler
  6. Ryan Sieg
  7. John Hunter Nemechek
  8. Tyler Reddick
  9. Cole Custer
  10. Garrett Smithley
  11. JJ Yeley
  12. Christopher Bell
  13. Jeff Green
  14. Michael Annett
  15. Shane Lee
  16. Chase Briscoe
  17. Vinnie Miller
  18. Tommy Joe Martins
  19. BJ McLeod
  20. Kaz Grala
  21. Joey Gase
  22. Ryan Reed
  23. Daniel Hemric
  24. Alex Labbe
  25. Matt Tifft
  26. Josh Williams
  27. Timmy Hill
  28. Josh Bilicki
  29. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  30. Austin Cindric
  31. Joe Nemechek
  32. David Starr
  33. Mike Harmon
  34. Ross Chastain
  35. Jeremy Clements
  36. Dylan Lupton
  37. Ty Majeski
  38. Ryan Truex
  39. Chad Finchum
  40. Spencer Boyd
Photo Credit - Christian Koelle/CCK Photography