Johnny Sauter Survives Chaos to Win at Daytona

Johnny Sauter held off a late charge from teammate Justin Haley to earn his third victory at the Daytona International Speedway. Sauter took advantage of pole-sitter David Gilliland, who had dominated most of the race, being involved in an accident. Joe Nemechek finished third; followed by Ben Rhodes and Scott Laggasie Jr.

Sauter earned his 18th career victory in the NCWTS and also punched his ticket to the playoffs with the victory at Daytona.

The race was slowed by seven cautions for 35 laps including one red flag that lasted four minutes and twenty seconds. Jennifer Jo Cobb was involved in an accident on lap 56 which sent her into the inside wall. It bruised her arm pretty badly, but she will return next weekend at Atlanta.

Results from Daytona

  1. Johnny Sauter
  2. Justin Haley
  3. Joe Nemechek
  4. Ben Rhodes 
  5. Scott Lagasse Jr.
  6. Grant Enfinger
  7. Spencer Davis
  8. Dalton Sargeant
  9. Jordan Anderson
  10. Justin Fontaine
  11. Austin Hill
  12. Wendell Chavous
  13. Norm Benning
  14. Robby Lyons
  15. Scott Stenzel 
  16. Korbin Forrister
  17. Cody Coughlin
  18. Bryan Dauzat
  19. Matt Crafton 
  20. Austin Wayne Self
  21. David Gilliland
  22. Clay Greenfield
  23. Noah Gragson
  24. Myatt Snider
  25. John Hunter Nemechek
  26. Brett Moffitt
  27. Stewart Friesen
  28. Parker Kligerman
  29. Chris Fontaine
  30. Bo LeMastus
  31. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  32. Travis Kvapil
Photo Credit - Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images